Back to School 3 Part Series: How I Stay Organized

Happy Saturday!
Am I the only one wondering how is it Labor Day weekend already?! I don’t even remember September even starting, like really! Lol
Anyway, today I’m sharing some helpful tips that has helped me organize my life better. Since this is apart of my Back to School mini series, these tips can definitely be applied to students as well.

1. Use a planner

wpid-img_20150904_114500.jpg
Having a planner is the number one way I stay organized. When managing life, school, work etc. it can be likely to forget something important. My planner is my life in a nutshell. Everything that I need to remember is in there.
Your planner doesn’t have to be a fancy one. You want one that works for you. Make sure it’s one that you feel comfortable writing in consistently.
As we already know, I enjoy decorating my planner with cute stickers and washi tape. However I still need to have that balance of functionality. You may also like to try color coding. It’s a cute and simple way to jazz up your planner without all the bells and whistles. When I started my planner, I tried color coding, but it never stuck. I still use colorful pens just because they’re fun!

2. Write out a master to do list and a weekly to do list

wpid-wp-1441480383312.jpeg

I love writing lists! I can write out lists all day if I could lol. I’ve learned from other planner girls, that having a master to do list is great. This is a list of everything that needs to get done, but with no specific deadline. Each week when I sit down and plan, I make sure I review my master to do list and check off any tasks accomplished and what still needs to be completed.
A weekly to do list is the pretty much the same concept. The only difference is that these tasks must be completed by the end of the week, but in no specific order.

3. Create a bulletin board

I have a large bulletin board that was already in my apartment. It hangs visible in my kitchen and I am able to see it daily. I keep my wall calendar as well as my vision board for this year along with other inspiration. You can create your board pretty much anywhere just as long as it is easily visible. If you want to take a look at my 2015 vision board, click here.

4. Take a photo of your to do list and use it as your phone background

I got this idea from Sarah BelleΒ and it’s so genius! We are always looking at our phones for one reason or another. Having your daily to do list as your phone background is a great way to stay focused on the tasks at hand! πŸ™‚

5. Keep a small notebook for your brain dumps

wpid-img_20150805_170131.jpg

I mentioned having this notebook before. For those who aren’t familiar with a brain dump, it’s basically jotting down all of your ideas, thoughts, and randomness in one notebook. Mine is a notebook from the Target dollar spot. The notes are not pretty, but it’s not supposed to be. This notebook is simply to write all thoughts on paper resulting in a clearer mind. πŸ™‚

Well I hope you guys liked my tips and are able to apply it to your daily life. Have a wonderful, long weekend!

❀

-Ladreena-

4 thoughts on “Back to School 3 Part Series: How I Stay Organized

Leave a Reply

