Holiday DIY Series: How to make an envelope quick and easy!

Welcome to another edition of my Holiday DIY series. I can’t believe it’s only 13 days left until Christmas (eeeeeek!) I still have a couple of gifts to get, and after that I will be done. What I’m going to show you today is something I actually learned like two weeks ago–well, I can’t really say I learned it because it’s not much to it, but it was one of those things that just popped into my little creative brain: why not make some pretty envelopes!

Let’s face it, buying a lot of greeting cards is costly. I spend at least ten minutes looking for the right card, and when I finally see one that I like, I flip to the back to see that it’s an outrageous $5.99 or more. I get it, there’s a lot of work that goes into card making, I just personally don’t want to spend the money anymore. Lately I’ve been in a crafty mood, so I decided to make little holiday envelopes.

You can make these anytime of year. I just bought a Christmas theme paper pad from Joann Fabrics online, and it happened to be perfect to use for my little envelopes.

wpid-wp-1418355133683.jpeg

This pad in particular only cost $4.99 with free shipping at the time. Totally worth it!

wpid-20141211_2220210.jpg

This paper is 6.5 inches on all sides so there wasn’t a need to cut anything. Depending on the size of paper you use, you may need to cut it down to size. As long as the dimensions are equal on all four sides to form a square you are good.

wpid-20141211_222137.jpg

First thing you are going to do is fold down one corner of your paper to make a flap like so.

wpid-20141211_222205.jpg

wpid-20141211_222343.jpg

Do the same thing to the other sides making sure that all points meet at the center. Make sure to secure 3/4 points together with tape. The result should look similar to the photo above.

wpid-20141211_222806.jpg

The next part is wherever your creativity takes you. You can take your DIY skills to the next level and make a card to go along with your envelope, or you can pop a little note inside like I did.

How simple was that?! It takes only about ten minutes of your time. I’m definitely making more of these, and sending them out to pen pals, Raks, etc.

If you liked this DIY, or any other on my blog, don’t forget to like, share, and follow me!

Have an awesome Friday!

🙂

-Ladreena-

Leave a Reply

