Holiday DIY Series: Simple decorative vase

Hey guys! I hope everyone had an awesome Thanksgiving eating, and spending time with loved ones. I know I did! πŸ™‚

The day after Thanksgiving is when I always start decorating my apartment for Christmas. This year I decided to be more hands on instead of going out and buying decorations. I find that it says money, and you can make it more personalized to your liking. The possibilities are endless! Today I will be showing you how to create this very easy DIY vase using things you most likely have in your house already!

wpid-20141128_093527.jpg

Β  Β  Β  For this project you will need:

  • A jar (preferably narrow) I used an old olives jar.
  • Any color paint. I’m using Craft Smart gloss acrylic paint in white.
  • Hot glue gun or any type of glue with a strong bond. I’m using super glue.
  • Floral of your choice. I’m using Poinsettias in the spirit of Christmas.
  • Newspaper or paper towel.
  • Ribbon of your choosing. I’m using some I got at the Target Dollarspot.
  • Any little extras you would like to add i.e stickers, more ribbon, rhinestone etc.

Step 1: Remove the label. Have the jar sit in hot water for about 15 mins. It should be able to easily peel off by then, if not, repeat the process again. Once that is done make sure you wash out your jar thoroughly with warm soapy water.

wpid-20141128_084539.jpg

Your jar should look like this.

Step 2: Pour a generous amount of paint (varies on size of jar) in your jar. Tilt it at a downward angle and turn it slowly. Make sure that the paint is covering all areas inside the jar. Once the jar is completely covered, stand it upside down on the newspaper and let gravity do it’s thing. This brings all the extra paint back out on the paper. Let your jar dry.

wpid-20141128_085003.jpg

Tip: Turn the jar slowly to avoid uncovered spaces.

Step 3: Time to decorate! You can pretty much do whatever you like for this part. I decided to use the polka dot ribbon.

wpid-20141128_084447.jpg

Measure out the amount of ribbon you need to wrap around the neck of the jar. Then use your glue to secure it in place. Β To add a little more glam to it, I added a bow charm that I had from a broken charm bracelet. This is the end result.

wpid-20141128_093424.jpg wpid-20141128_093351.jpg

I am so happy with how this turned out! This will stay on top of my vanity for a while πŸ™‚ The only thing I had to buy for this project was the flowers, and they were only $1.00 from Deals. (Check out what else I got for $1.00 in my last post)

I would love to see how you guys decorate your vases. On Instagram use #heartdreenieholidaydiy and don’t forget to follow me on there as well! @heartdreenie.lifestyle

πŸ™‚

-Ladreena-

Leave a Reply

